It is about two weeks before I will be heading to Thailand. So until my departure I have some free time on my hands which I cannot spend in idleness. I have had friends come visit me and I have also been doing some traveling here in the states. I have recently had the privilege of revisiting New Orleans, Louisiana.
Their is a Love/Hate relationship that I have for the city. I love the culture, art, personality, outspoken people, and food. But I do not like the debauchery, witchcraft, drinking, and LGBT movement that is so greatly emphasized in this city.
Every time that I have been there we have spent the majority of our time in french quarters which is the tourist attraction of New Orleans. Their is so much history and in the city and I learn a little more of it with every visit, but I shall not bore those of you who do not value history sessions:)
This last visit was probably the most fun I have had there and the most relaxed that I have been. It is just a known fact that a trip is not defined by the actual city you are visiting, but instead by the people you are with and meet. My travel buddy this time had all the same interests as me and was just as fanatical about it. We visited art galleries, took a gazillion pictures, and sat and listened to a lot of street jazz artists.
Speaking of Jazz, I became interested in this genre a few years ago when I got ahold of my mothers very very old records and started listening to them. It was here that I fell in love with the andrews sisters, frank sinatra, bing cosby, Louis armstrong ect. So, I first set out to New Orleans to see where the major part of jazz began and still is. But I came to discover that the Jazz played there today is more the modern jazz which consists of more of a blues sound. I never did discover any of the more (what I call) classical jazz. But so be it, jazz is jazz and it is raw, new, and different every time. It involves compromise and improvising and being in tune with your fellow band players. So it is definitely something to experience.
Just as a piece of advice there is one street that is perfectly fine to avoid even though it is considered the most famous street in french quarters, and that is ‘Bourbon Street’. I normally step on the street when I go only to remember why I was going to avoid it the next time. Other than that I love the place and would advise anyone to visit that enjoys art, cajun food, and jazz.

_DSC9727
It doesn’t get more weird
_DSC9720
Her face just hit me
_DSC9717_DSC9702_DSC9695
_DSC9691
Love Her
_DSC9676
#mood
_DSC9666
These boys were the best ever
_DSC9661
His wink was mesmerizing
_DSC9659_DSC9657_DSC9653_DSC9636
_DSC9625
The lady of the sea
20645981_1661219953919653_730610975_n

Leave a comment